DANUBE CYCLE TRAIL

The perfect long-distance cycle path for your first cycling holiday


about 330 km

Danube cycle map

The famous Danube cycle path is the pioneer among European cycle paths and has been one of the most popular long-distance cycle paths in Europe for over 30 years. The Danube Cycle Path runs around 2.850 km along the banks of the Danube from its source in Germany to its mouth in the Black Sea. The many different stages along the second largest and second longest river in Europe lead through Germany, Austria, Slovakia, Hungary, Croatia, Serbia, Bulgaria and Romania.

The cycle route of the Danube Cycle Path in Germany and Austria is very well developed. Most of the cycle route runs on both sides of the Danube, but sometimes only on one, so that the Danube has to be crossed several times. The first section of the Danube Cycle Path leads along the young Danube from Donaueschingen via Ulm to Donauwörth, through a landscape that is characterized by numerous castles, palaces, ruins, monasteries and baroque churches.

From Donauwörth, the Danube Cycle Path continues through Ingolstadt and Regensburg to Passau. On this section of the Danube Cycle Path, you follow the Danube across Bavaria. The bike route is particularly suitable for leisure cyclists and families, as the route is largely flat. The cities along the route invite you to stroll and discover.

The most spectacular section: From Passau to Vienna

The stage from the three rivers city of Passau to the Austrian capital Vienna is particularly popular with cyclists - the classic among all (Danube) bike tours. The bike-friendly infrastructure, the continuously paved route with hardly any inclines and the good signage ensure a relaxed bike trip. The bike tour is ideal for young and old and also for families with children. The route in Upper and Lower Austria is peppered with sights and natural attractions. In addition to the famous Schlögener Danube loop, the design city Linz, the mighty Benedictine Abbey of Melk and finally the Wachau wine region, one of the most spectacular river landscapes in the world, are passed. The next stages of the Danube Cycle Path lead along the Danube through the three metropolises of Vienna, Bratislava and Budapest.

The Danube Cycle Path also has a lot to offer for e-bikers. Numerous bike-friendly businesses along the bike route offer free charging stations for e-bikes. A bike tour on the Danube Cycle Path can be ideally combined with other public transport. You have the opportunity to cover part of the route in a relaxed manner by train or ship

Österreich Radreisen offers two bike tours on the most popular section of the Danube Cycle Path between Passau and Vienna: The classic variant for leisure cyclists with 7 overnight stays and one sporty bike tour with daily stages of around 80 kilometers.

Danube Bike Path

Danube loop © WGD Donau OÖTourismus GmbH, Steininger

THESE CYCLING TOURS COULD
YOU ARE INTERESTED IN

Filters Black
8 days / 7 nights
ab
680,00 
Booking
Danube Cycle Path Durnstein cNiederosterreich WerbungStefan Fuertbauer 1024x767 1
8 days / 7 nights
ab
398,00 
Booking
E biking on the Hallstaettersee
8 days / 7 nights
ab
719,00 
Booking
1 2

DONAURADWEG

Der perfekte Fernradweg für den ersten Radurlaub


ca. 330 km

Radkarte Donauradweg

Der berühmte Donauradweg ist der Pionier unter den europäischen Radwegen und seit über 30 Jahren einer beliebtesten Fernradwege Europas. Der Donauradweg verläuft rund 2.850 km entlang des Ufers der Donau von der Quelle in Deutschland bis zur Mündung in das Schwarze Meer. Die vielen unterschiedlichen Etappen entlang des zweitgrößten und zweitlängsten Flusses Europas führen durch die Länder Deutschland, Österreich, Slowakei, Ungarn, Kroatien, Serbien, Bulgarien und Rumänien.

Die Radroute des Donauradweges in Deutschland und Österreich ist sehr gut ausgebaut. Größtenteils verläuft die Fahrradstrecke auf beiden Seiten der Donau, teilweise jedoch nur auf einer, sodass die Donau mehrfach überquert werden muss. Der erste Abschnitt des Donauradweges führt entlang der jungen Donau von Donaueschingen über Ulm bis nach Donauwörth, durch eine Landschaft die von zahlreichen Burgen, Schlösser, Ruinen, Klöster und Barockkirchen geprägt ist.

Von Donauwörth führt der Donauradweg weiter durch Ingolstadt und Regensburg bis nach Passau. Auf diesem Abschnitt des Donauradweges folgen Sie der Donau quer durch Bayern. Die Fahrradstrecke ist besonders für Genussradler und Familien geeignet, da der Verlauf weitgehend eben ist. Die Städte entlang der Route laden zum Bummeln und Entdecken ein.

Der spektakulärste Abschnitt: Von Passau nach Wien

Besonders die Etappe von der Drei-Flüsse-Stadt Passau bis in die österreichische Bundeshauptstadt Wien ist bei Radfahrern sehr beliebt – der Klassiker schlechthin unter allen (Donau-)Radtouren. Die fahrradfreundliche Infrastruktur, die durchgehend asphaltierte Strecke mit kaum Steigungen sowie die gute Beschilderung sorgen für eine entspannte Radreise. Die Radtour ist für Jung und Alt und auch für Familien mit Kindern bestens geeignet. Die Strecke in Ober- und Niederösterreich ist gespickt mit Sehenswürdigkeiten und natürlichen Attraktionen. Neben der berühmten Schlögener Donauschlinge wird die Designstadt Linz, das mächtige Benediktinerstift Melk und schließlich die Weinregion Wachau, eine der spektakulärsten Flusslandschaften der Welt, passiert. Die nächsten Etappen des Donauradweges führen entlang der Donau durch die drei Metropolen Wien, Bratislava und Budapest.

Der Donauradweg hat auch für E-Biker einiges zu bieten. Zahlreiche fahrradfreundliche Betriebe entlang der Fahrradstrecke bieten kostenlose Ladestationen für E-Bikes an. Eine Radtour am Donauradweg kann ideal mit anderen öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln kombiniert werden. Sie haben die Möglichkeit, einen Teil der Strecke entspannt mit Bahn oder Schiff zurückzulegen

Österreich Radreisen bietet auf dem beliebtesten Abschnitt des Donauradweges zwischen Passau und Wien zwei Radtouren an: Die klassische Variante für Genussradfahrer mit 7 Übernachtungen und eine sportliche Radtour mit Tagesetappen von ca. 80 Kilometern.

Donauradweg

Donauschlinge © WGD Donau OÖTourismus GmbH, Steininger

DIESE RADREISEN KÖNNTEN
SIE INTERESSIEREN

Filters Sort
8 Tage / 7 Nächte
ab
680,00 
Buchen
Blick auf Aschach an der DonaucOberosterreich Tourismus GmbH Hermann Erber
6 Tage / 5 Nächte
ab
359,00 
Buchen
E Biken am Hallstaettersee
8 Tage / 7 Nächte
ab
719,00 
Buchen
Donauradweg Durnstein cNiederosterreich WerbungStefan Fuertbauer 1024x767 1
8 Tage / 7 Nächte
ab
398,00 
Buchen
1 2