TAUERNRADWEG

Enjoy cycling along the Salzach and Inn

 


about 330 km

The Tauern Cycle Path offers a unique holiday experience and pure cycling pleasure between the imposing mountain peaks in the Salzburger Land and the hills of the Innviertel in Upper Austria and neighboring Bavaria. Enjoy the breathtaking panorama of the Hohe Tauern, treat yourself to a cool refreshment in Lake Zell and visit the sights of the Mozart city of Salzburg and the German-Austrian border town of Passau.

From the Hohe Tauern to the Mozart city of Salzburg

The starting point of the 270 or 320 km long cycle route are the famous Krimml Waterfalls in the Salzburger Land. With a fall height of 385 m are the highest waterfalls in Austria. Along the north side of the Hohe Tauern and the Salzach River, the individual stages of the well-developed Tauern Cycle Path lead continuously downriver through the Pinzgau, Pongau and Tennengau to the provincial capital of Salzburg.

Continue on the Inn cycle path to Passau

For the rest of the journey on the Tauern Cycle Path, you can choose between two options Choose: The goal of the first variant is the German three-river city of Passau, located directly on the border with Austria. The cycle route of the Tauern Cycle Path runs from Salzburg along the Austrian-German border and leads along the Salzach through the Flachgau and Upper Austrian Innviertel. The Salzach flows into the Inn near Braunau in Upper Austria. From there, the Tauern Cycle Path continues along the Inn to Passau. The route of the Inntal cycle path. In Passau you can start your bike tour on the Danube Bike Path continue. From the Upper Austrian municipality of Hochburg-Ach or the Bavarian Burghausen opposite, you can also cycle on the Bavarian side of the Salzach and Inn to Passau.

The shorter variant of the Tauern cycle path leads from Salzburg along the Saalach through the Bavarian Berchtesgadener Land back into the Pinzgau to Lofer. At Maishofen, the Tauern Cycle Path leaves the Saalachtal and leads back to the Salzach Valley via Zell am See. At Kaprun the route meets its original course again. The cycle route of the Tauern Cycle Path is very well signposted and most of it is paved.

Austria bike tours organizes two wonderful Tauern cycle path trips: one Stage tour from Krimml to Passau and a shorter variant than Round trip from Salzburg.

THESE CYCLING TOURS COULD
YOU ARE INTERESTED IN

Filters Black
8 days / 7 nights
ab
680,00 
Booking
E biking on the Hallstaettersee
8 days / 7 nights
ab
719,00 
Booking
Cycling holiday with the family in the Salzburg region
7 days / 6 nights
ab
499,00 
Booking

TAUERNRADWEG

Erlebnis Tauernradweg

 


ca. 330 km

Genussvoll radeln im Salzburger Land

Der Tauernradweg bietet zwischen den imposanten Berggipfeln im Salzburger Land und den Hügeln des Innviertels in Oberösterreich ein einzigartiges Urlaubserlebnis und pures Radvergnügen. Genießen Sie das atemberaubende Panorama der Hohen Tauern, gönnen Sie sich eine kühle Erfrischung im Zeller See und besuchen Sie die Sehenswürdigkeiten der Mozartstadt Salzburg und der deutsch-österreichischen Grenzstadt Passau.

Von den Hohen Tauern in die Mozartstadt Salzburg

Ausgangspunkt der rund 270 bzw. 320 km langen Radroute sind die bekannten Krimmler Wasserfälle im Salzburger Land. Mit einer Fallhöhe von 385 m sind die die höchsten Wasserfälle Österreichs. Entlang der Nordseite der Hohen Tauern und des Flusses Salzach führen die einzelnen Etappen des gut ausgebauten Tauernradweges kontinuierlich flussabwärts durch den Pinzgau, den Pongau und den Tennengau bis in die Landeshauptstadt Salzburg.

Tauernradweg-Reisen nach Maß

Bei Radreisen am Tauernradweg kann man zwischen zwei Varianten wählen: Ziel der ersten Variante ist deutsche Drei-Flüsse-Stadt Passau, direkt an der Grenze zu Österreich gelegen.  Die Fahrradstrecke des Tauernradweges verläuft ab Salzburg entlang der österreichisch-deutschen Grenze führt entlang der Salzach durch den Flachgau und das oberösterreichische Innviertel. Die Salzach mündet bei Braunau in Oberösterreich in den Inn. Von dort verläuft die Fahrradroute des Tauernradweges weiter den Inn entlang bis nach Passau. In diesem Abschnitt verläuft auch die Streckenführung des Inntalradweges. In Passau können Sie Ihre Radtour auf dem Donauradweg fortsetzen. Ab der oberösterreichischen Gemeinde Hochburg-Ach bzw. dem gegenüberliegenden bayerischen Burghausen können Sie auch auf der bayerischen Seite der Salzach und des Inns nach Passau radeln.

Die kürzere Variante des Tauernradweges führt von Salzburg entlang der Saalach durch das bayerische Berchtesgadener Land zurück in den Pinzgau bis Lofer. Bei Maishofen verlässt die Fahrradroute des Tauernradweges das Saalachtal und führt über Zell am See zurück in das Salzachtal. Bei Kaprun trifft die Route wieder auf ihren ursprünglichen Verlauf. Die Fahrradstrecke des Tauernradweges ist sehr gut beschildert und großteils asphaltiert.

Österreich Radreisen organisiert eine wunderschöne Rundtour  entlang des Tauernradweges von Salzburg über Lofer und Zell am See bis nach Krimml und zurück über Zell am See, Bischofshofen und Golling bis nach Salzburg.

DIESE RADREISEN KÖNNTEN
SIE INTERESSIEREN

Filters Sort
Radurlaub mit der Familie im Salzburger Land
7 Tage / 6 Nächte
ab
499,00 
Buchen